All posts by chawprian

Workshop introduction

Supported by

-Cambridge University, School of the Humanities and Social Sciences Cambridge Humanities Research Grants (with the contribution of the Isaac Newton Trust).

-Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

-St John’s College

-Chinese Department of the Cambridge University Library

&

-Paris Sciences et Lettres : FOEs-projet exploratoire (Projets de recherche dans les domaines des Lettres, sciences humaines et sociales, économie, finance et gestion de PSL Research University ; Idex : ANR-10-IDEX-0001-02 PSL)

cole française d’Extrême-Orient

-UMR8173 – Chine, Corée, Japon (EHESS-CNRS)

From 19 to 23 September, 2016, a workshop dedicated to the study of local primary sources on late imperial China (900-1900) was held in Cambridge.  The workshop was organized by Joseph McDermott (Cambridge) and Michela  Bussotti (EFEO-Paris), with the collaboration of Alain Arrault (EFEO-Paris), Adam Chau (Cambridge), Claude Chevaleyre (EHESS-Paris),   Imre Galambos (Cambridge), François Gipouloux (CNRS-Paris) and Christian Lamouroux (EHESS-Paris).

Library visit
Library

As part of the ongoing Cambridge-PSL programs dedicated to encourage collaboration between research students and teachers in Cambridge and Paris, this workshop dealt with the great amount of primary source documentation surviving from the second millennium of imperial Chinese history (900-1900).  Much of it remains unpublished, kept in provincial libraries rarely visited by Western scholars.  As a result, few Western scholars have had the training to read these often demanding sources with confidence, and this workshop was in part intended to help scholars overcome this problem.

The workshop was at least as much intended to foster fresh ways of thinking about historical methods and methodology as about reading historical sources accurately. Twenty-five participants (see the list) had received in advance annotated copies of the texts, so that all could be able to contribute to the reading and discussion of each document at each session. The workshop was designed for all to learn and teach together. The workshop’s sessions took place in a room adjacent to the Aoi Pavilion for East Asian Books inside the Cambridge University Library. Teachers and students from Paris were accommodated and fed at St John’s College, Cambridge.

In the seminar room
In the seminar room

For five consecutive days scholars from both Cambridge and Paris in turn led the workshop’s other participants through a careful reading and analysis of instructive examples of primary sources, such as lay associations’ bylaws, legal cases, wills, contracts, account books, religious associations’ records, water control inscriptions and genealogies. Two sessions were held every day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon (see the program), focused as much on analysis as on translation.  The week of seminars began with a presentation about available Chinese maps and maps of China by Charles Aylmer, curator of Chinese books at the Cambridge University Library. The final afternoon was devoted to a discussion about the overall findings from this collective work and capped by a visit to a Cambridge garden.

Photo of the group in the park of Madingley Hall
Photo of the group in the park of Madingley Hall

logos_frlogos_cambridge

Tous les articles par chawprian

Présentation de l’atelier

Avec le soutien de

  • Cambridge University, School of the Humanities and Social Sciences – Cambridge Humanities Research Grants (with the contribution of the Isaac Newton Trust).
  • Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies,
  • St John’s College, Chinese Department of the Cambridge University Library
  • Paris Sciences et Lettres : FOEs-Chine, projet exploratoire (Projets de recherche dans les domaines des Lettres, sciences humaines et sociales, économie, finance et gestion de PSL Research University, dans le cadre de l’Idex portant la référence ANR-10-IDEX-0001-02 PSL)
  • École française d’Extrême-Orient
  • UMR8173 – Chine, Corée, Japon (EHESS-CNRS)

Du 19 au 23 septembre 2016, un atelier dédié à l’étude des sources locales de la Chine impériale tardive (900-1900) s’est tenu à Cambridge. Il a été organisé par Joseph McDermott (Cambridge University) et Michela Bussotti (EFEO – Paris), avec la collaboration de : Alain Arrault (EFEO-Paris), Adam Chau (Cambridge University), Claude Chevaleyre (EHESS – Paris), Imre Galambos (Cambridge University), François Gipouloux (CNRS – Paris) et Christian Lamouroux (EHESS – Paris).

Visite de la bibliothèque
Bibliothèque

Faisant partie des programmes de Cambridge-PSL destinés à encourager la collaboration entre étudiants chercheurs et professeurs de Cambridge et Paris, cet atelier s’est intéressé à la grande quantité de documentation de première main couvrant une longue période historique de 900 à 1900, qui, même si elle n’est pas encore publiée, est d’ores et déjà disponible pour faire des recherches. Quelques chercheurs ont été formés pour lire ces sources parfois extrêmement techniques et cet atelier a été conçu en partie pour les aider à résoudre les problèmes qu’ils ont éventuellement rencontrés.

L’atelier avait pour but aussi bien d’ouvrir de nouvelles voies de réflexions quant à la méthodologie et les méthodes historiques que de lire avec acuité les sources historiques. Vingt-cinq participants (voir la liste) ont reçu à l’avance des copies annotées des textes, de cette manière chacun était en mesure de participer à la lecture et à la discussion concernant les documents présentés. L’atelier a été pensé pour que tous apprennent et enseignent ensemble. Les sessions de l’atelier se sont tenues dans une salle du Aoi Pavilion for East Asian Books à l’intérieur de la Bibliothèque de l’Université de Cambridge. Les enseignant et les étudiant venus de Paris ont été logés au St John’s College à Cambridge.

Salle de séminaire
Salle de séminaire

Pendant cinq jours consécutifs, les chercheurs de Paris et Cambridge ont conduit tour à tour les autres participants dans une lecture attentive et une analyse soutenue d’exemples significatifs de documents de première main, tels que les règlements d’associations, les cas judiciaires, les testaments, les contrats, les livres de compte, les recensements d’association religieuses, les inscriptions sur la gestion de l’eau et les généalogies. Deux sessions se tenaient chaque jour, une le matin et la seconde l’après-midi (voir le programme), focalisées autant sur l’analyse que la traduction. La semaine a commencé par une présentation des cartes chinoises par Charles Aylmer (Chef du Département Chine de la Bibliothèque de l’Université de Cambridge). La dernière après-midi a été consacrée à la discussion sur le travail collectif mené et à une visite  de Madingley Hall

Photo de groupe au Madingley Hall
Photo de groupe à Madingley Hall

logos_fr

logos_cambridge